Sam Pink

Sam Pink is 26.  He lives in Chicago, Illinois.  He wrote I AM GOING TO CLONE MYELF THEN KILL THE CLONE AND EAT IT (paperhro press 09), FROWNS NEED FRIENDS TOO (afterbirth press 09) and THE SELF ESTEEM HOLOCAUST COMES HOME (six gallerypress 09).  He writes at htmlgiant.com and impersonalelectroniccommunication.com.

What is your poetic statement?

My poems are the product of being a bi polar man who is always eithr angry or sad or really happy.

Five  events which changed or moved your writing experience.

I can’t think of anything specifcally.  I view it more as one long change.

Please tell our readers what projects you are currently working on.

I am writing a full length play and a novel.

What was your biggest triumph in the last 10 years?

Not killing myself

Do you have any regrets and if so what would you have done different?

No regrets

Which publication had the biggest impact on your work and why?

I think that the writing of whatever gets published is more impacting than its publication.

Provide f advice for someone that is just starting to write poetry and submitting their work.

Have a lot of kids and once you have a lot, set them free in an alley.
Please share one poem of yours which you feel best represents your work in the past 10 years.


DURING SEXUAL INTERCOURSE I ENVISION MY OWN BRUTAL DEATH

The other day I went for a walk and while I was at an intersection I saw a man wearing colorful shorts.

I said, “I like your shorts.”

He looked down and then back at me and paused.   He said, “Yeah, these are like, my favorite shorts.  That’s why I wear them so much.”

I said, “Yeah, I can see why.  If those were my shorts I would wear them a lot too.”

He nodded and then turned and looked at the light.

It was the most successful conversation I have ever had.

I thought, “Just quit now.”

One thought on “Sam Pink

Leave a comment